Bhutan bucks–

sc00acd0e2 sc00ace05eThis is the money of Bhutan called the “Ngultrum.”  1 USD equals about 60 Ngultrum so this bill is worth about 1.4 US dollars.  Change a hundred bucks at the Paro airport, and I walk out with a pretty good stash of cash. . .change a couple hundred more, and my pockets are bulging with cash, AND I am happy to be here.

On the front you see the current king of Bhutan–a strapping, 35-year-old dude. . .and on the back you see a governmental/monastery-type building in Thimpu.  The money looks calm and easygoing–perfect, because Bhutan itself is calm and easygoing.  Voila!

I send you chilled-out vibes from Bhutan. . .feel them. . .they are soothing.

It’s lovely out there.

2 thoughts on “Bhutan bucks–

  1. I had a trip planned to Bhutan a few years ago…but work pulled me away (and of course I regret that decision to cancel). Would like to spend a nice relaxing week there. I do have Myanmar on my calendar at the end of the year, shoot a little over the holidays.

    Like

    • Hey Randall–

      Yes, I was in Bhutan in April of this year. . .quite lovely. . .trekked the Paro Valley to the base of Chomolhari–the sacred peak of Bhutan. Very relaxing and easy trekking, but the weather is not the best. I prefer both Nepal and Tibet for trekking in the Himalaya. . .Nepal is more dramatic and Tibet is more vast and expansive–both have better weather.

      It seems everyone wants to hit Myanmar now that it open. . .confident that you will have a fabulous time there with lots of interesting stuff to shoot. We will be in Chiang Mai over the holidays so we will all be in the same general neighborhood. . .will send you positive vibes from the north of Thailand.

      All the best–

      Like

Leave a comment