Simple burgers…simple pleasure…NYC–

Cheeseburger “all the way”…tasty!
Smash-onionburger with fries…delightful!
Nice for snacking…enjoy!

A dude called George Motz has extensive knowledge of burger joints all around the U.S. of A….he has apparently eaten burgers in every state in the country…made a movie about his wanderings called ‘Hamburger America’…and now has a restaurant of the same name located on the corner of MacDougal and Houston Streets here in beautiful New York Citaaaaayy that serves burgers the way he thinks taste best: smashed, grilled crisp, topped with American cheese–and onions if you like–and served on a squishy soothing simple bun with a few pickles on the side. . .oh, and crispy fries are on offer as well. Let’s check this joint out and see what’s what–jaaaaa!

I arrive on a weekday at around noon…weekends are too busy here with lines of people and too much bustle. . .upon my arrival there are lots of counter seats available, a lady greets me at the door as I walk in, she asks if I prefer a table or a counter seat…I do the counter.

I read the simple menu–two burger options: plain patty or onion patty…single or double. . .I do one plain and one onion–both single and both with American cheese…also a side of fries and an iced tea. . .the greeter lady takes my order lickety-split, and I am good-to-go.

I get my iced tea immediately and sip away as I await my burgers…after about five minutes both burgers arrive with the fries. . .I gobble everything with ease…quite tasty.

The meat is very burgery…tastes good…the cheese is perfectly melted on both burgers. My ‘plain’ burger is made “all-the-way” which includes pickles, cheese and mustard. . .and the ‘onion’ burger is cooked with onions grilled into the meat and served with pickles on the side…very nice. The fries are tasty, too…very much OK.

Overall, none of this food kicks me in the ass…it is all just good. . .a real good joint for a quick snack but nothing earth-shattering…I like it.

But if I really want to have a burger experience, then I am heading over to Corner Bistro for a martini and a loaded “bistro burger” cooked medium rare with fries–better atmosphere, better burger, better beverages and overall better experience…

…or Pastis for their cheeseburger…

…or top-of-the-top: the Luger Burger at Peter Luger’s.

Anyway, check out ‘Hamburger America’ some time to satisfy your curiosity–it’s not bad at all…but go elsewhere if you really want a burger “experience” as I usually do whenever I crave grilled ground beef.

On to our next lunch experience…

…it’s lovely out there.

Leave a comment