Palermo is calling you–

IMG_0129 IMG_0125 IMG_0121 IMG_0114You gotta get out and walk about whenever you arrive in a new town.  I love walking about in Palermo, the capital of Sicily. . .early morning is my favorite time.  Sicilian dudes are dusting off their carriage horses, markets are just coming to life, the grand Via Vittorio Emanuele is empty and serene. . .it feels like I have the whole town to myself, which, of course, I don’t, but it still feels like it could be all mine just for a second or three. . .then a dude on a scooter zips by and breaks my reverie. . .saluti to you oh wondrous scooter-man, I hope you get to wherever you are going safely!

The most interesting part of Palermo for me is that it feels like there are lots of secrets here and things going on that I can never understand and never be a part of. . .lots of fun to simply sit and watch the people interact with one another. . .a cheek kiss here, a grand gesture there, a nod over yonder, handshakes, more gestures, and more gestures, and more. . .what an intricate ant nest of behavior to behold. . .I could easily spend the rest of my life here–no problem.  Come visit Palermo. . .come visit Sicily. . .you will love, I gar-ron-taaaay!

I send you fascinating vibes from Palermo. . .feel them. . .they ain’t goin’ nowhere.

To see more stupendous images from around our teeny-tiny planet simply click on a location of your choice in the category menu on the ‘About’ page of this blog. . .do it. . .there is so much to see here, and you don’t want any regrets now, do you?  No, you don’t–saluti!!

It’s lovely out there.

4 thoughts on “Palermo is calling you–

      • Brilliant! I’m thinking of a city break there next year if I can work the flights out! Might have to roll it into a beach holiday too though as nearby Cefalù is one of my favourite spots!! Keep the inspiration coming!!

        Like

      • City break in Palermo. . .niiiice! We just hit a local beach club about 10 kms out of town, and we know Cefalu is wonderful–though never been. . .next time we will see you there. Cheers!

        Like

Leave a Reply

